Directory

Faculty

Sophia Krzys Acord
Associate Director, Center for the Humanities and the Public Sphere
Assistant in Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Exeter, UK
skacord@ufl.edu
Monika Ardelt
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, UNC at Chapel Hill
ardelt@ufl.edu
Marian J. Borg
Associate Professor of Sociology,
Undergraduate Coordinator for Sociology
Ph.D. University of Virginia
mborg@ufl.edu
Kendal L. Broad
Associate Professor of Sociology and Women’s Studies and Gender Research
Ph.D. Sociology, Washington State University
klbroad@ufl.edu
Alin Ceobanu
Associate Professor of Sociology and European Studies
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
aceobanu@ufl.edu
Abigail Fagan
Associate Professor of Criminology and Law
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Colorado
afagan@ufl.edu
Charles Gattone
Associate Professor of Sociology and Associate Chair
Ph.D. Sociology, The New School for Social Research
cgattone@ufl.edu
Chris Gibson
Research Foundation Professor
Associate Professor of Criminology and Law
Ph.D. School of Criminology and Criminal Justice, University of Nebraska
clgibson@ufl.edu
Lisa E. Hasel
Assistant Professor of Criminology and Law
PhD Iowa State University
lhasel@ufl.edu
Richard Hollinger
Professor of Criminology and Law
Ph.D. Department of Sociology,
University of Minnesota
rhollin@ufl.edu
Tanya Koropeckyj-Cox
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Pennsylvania
tkcox@ufl.edu
Marvin Krohn
Professor of Criminology and Law
mkrohn@ufl.edu
Jodi Lane
Professor of Criminology and Law
Ph.D. Social Ecology with Concentration in Criminology, Law & Society,
University of California, Irvine
jlane@ufl.edu
Lonn Lanza-Kaduce
Professor of Criminology and Law, Undergraduate Coordinator for Criminology and Law
Ph.D. in Sociology and JD, University of Iowa
llkkll@ufl.edu
Lora M. Levett
Associate Professor of Criminology and Law
Director of UF Online Program in Criminology
Ph.D. Legal Psychology, Florida International University
llevett@ufl.edu
William Marsiglio
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, Ohio State University
marsig@ufl.edu
Christine Overdevest
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Wisconsin
coverdev@ufl.edu
Charles W. Peek
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Michigan
cpeek@ufl.edu
Milagros Peña
Professor of Sociology and Women’s Studies,
Associate Dean for Social and Behavioral Sciences
Ph.D. Sociology, State University of New York at Stony Brook
mpena@ufl.edu
Stephen Perz
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Texas at Austin
sperz@ufl.edu
Constance L. Shehan
Professor of Sociology and Women’s Studies
Ph.D. Sociology, Pennsylvania State University
cshehan@ufl.edu
Tamir Sorek
Associate Professor of Sociology and Jewish Studies
Ph.D. Hebrew University of Jerusalem
tsorek@ufl.edu
Robert G. White
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Wisconsin
rwhite@ufl.edu
Barbara A. Zsembik
Associate Professor of Sociology, Graduate Coordinator and Interim Chair
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Texas at Austin
zsembik@ufl.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Ronald L. Akers
Professor of Criminology and Law
Ph.D. University of Kentucky
rlakers@ufl.edu
Leonard Beeghley
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of California, Riverside
E. Wilbur Bock
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, Iowa State University, 1961
Charles F. Frazier
Professor of Criminology and Law
Ph.D., Sociology, Southern Illinois University
Benjamin L. Gorman
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, Tulane University, 1965
John C. Henretta
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, Harvard University, 1974
henretta@ufl.edu
Anthony LaGreca
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, Ohio State University
Paul Magnarella
Professor of Anthropology, Criminology, and Law
Ph.D., Anthropology and Middle East Studies, Harvard University
J.D., University of Florida Levin College of Law
John H. Scanzoni
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Oregon, 1964
Frederick Shenkman
Associate Professor of Sociology and Criminology (Retired)
Ed.D. University of Florida, 1970
Charles Thomas
Professor of Sociology and Criminology (Retired)
Hernán Vera
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Kansas
Charles H. Wood
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Texas at Austin
cwood@latam.ufl.edu