People

Our faculty are internationally known for their research in the areas of families, gender, and sexualities; health, aging, and the life course; environmental and resource sociology; race and ethnicity; criminology and criminal justice; and psychology and law. We take great pride in the fact that our faculty are involved in interdisciplinary research projects that span nearly of all of the University’s colleges and academic programs, including: the School of Natural Resources and the Environment, the Water Institute, the Emerging Pathogens Institute, the Center for Latin American Studies, the Center for European Studies, the Center for Women’s Studies and Gender Research, the Health Science Center, and the Jewish Studies Center. Wherever you go on campus, you will most likely find at least one Sociologist or Criminologist from our department making major contributions.

Below is a full list of our current and emeritus faculty, with links to detailed biographies and curriculum vitae. To narrow your search for faculty by department, please use the sidebar links to access the sociology or criminology and law directories. Please note, however, that many of our faculty teach both sociology and criminology and law courses, so while they may call one field their home, there is substantial overlap within our department. In the sidebar, you can also find links to our current graduate students and those recently graduated.

Faculty

Sophia Krzys Acord
Associate Director, Center for the Humanities and the Public Sphere
Assistant in Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Exeter, UK
skacord@ufl.edu
CV
Monika Ardelt
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, UNC at Chapel Hill
ardelt@ufl.edu
CV
Marian J. Borg
Associate Professor of Sociology,
Undergraduate Coordinator for Sociology
Ph.D. University of Virginia
mborg@ufl.edu
CV
Kendal L. Broad
Associate Professor of Sociology and Women’s Studies and Gender Research
Ph.D. Sociology, Washington State University
klbroad@ufl.edu
CV
Alin Ceobanu
Associate Professor and Graduate Coordinator of Sociology and European Studies
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
aceobanu@ufl.edu
CV
Abigail Fagan
Associate Professor of Criminology and Law
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Colorado
afagan@ufl.edu
CV
Charles Gattone
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, The New School for Social Research
cgattone@ufl.edu
CV
Chris Gibson
Research Foundation Professor
Associate Professor of Criminology and Law
Ph.D. School of Criminology and Criminal Justice, University of Nebraska
clgibson@ufl.edu
CV
Richard Hollinger
Professor of Criminology and Law
Ph.D. Department of Sociology,
University of Minnesota
rhollin@ufl.edu
CV
Tanya Koropeckyj-Cox
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Pennsylvania
tkcox@ufl.edu
CV
Marvin Krohn
Professor of Criminology and Law
mkrohn@ufl.edu
CV
Jodi Lane
Professor of Criminology and Law
Ph.D. Social Ecology with Concentration in Criminology, Law & Society,
University of California, Irvine
jlane@ufl.edu
CV
Lonn Lanza-Kaduce
Professor of Criminology and Law, Undergraduate Coordinator for Criminology and Law
Ph.D. in Sociology and JD, University of Iowa
llkkll@ufl.edu
Lora M. Levett
Associate Professor of Criminology and Law
Director of UF Online Program in Criminology
Ph.D. Legal Psychology, Florida International University
llevett@ufl.edu
CV
William Marsiglio
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, Ohio State University
marsig@ufl.edu
CV
Christine Overdevest
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Wisconsin
coverdev@ufl.edu
CV
Charles W. Peek
Associate Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Michigan
cpeek@ufl.edu
CV
Stephen Perz
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Texas at Austin
sperz@ufl.edu
CV
Constance L. Shehan
Professor of Sociology and Women’s Studies
Ph.D. Sociology, Pennsylvania State University
cshehan@ufl.edu
CV
Tamir Sorek
Associate Professor of Sociology and Jewish Studies
Ph.D. Hebrew University of Jerusalem
tsorek@ufl.edu
CV
Nicholas Vargas
Assistant Professor of Sociology and Latin American Studies
Ph.D. Sociology, Purdue
nicholas.vargas@ufl.edu
CV
Robert G. White
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of Wisconsin
rwhite@ufl.edu
Barbara A. Zsembik
Associate Professor of Sociology and Chair
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Texas at Austin
zsembik@ufl.edu
CV

Emeritus Faculty

Ronald L. Akers
Professor of Criminology and Law
Ph.D. University of Kentucky
rlakers@ufl.edu
Leonard Beeghley
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, University of California, Riverside
Charles F. Frazier
Professor of Criminology and Law
Ph.D., Sociology, Southern Illinois University
John C. Henretta
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, Harvard University, 1974
henretta@ufl.edu
Anthony LaGreca
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D., Sociology, Ohio State University
Paul Magnarella
Professor of Anthropology, Criminology, and Law
Ph.D., Anthropology and Middle East Studies, Harvard University
J.D., University of Florida Levin College of Law
John H. Scanzoni
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Oregon, 1964
Frederick Shenkman
Associate Professor of Sociology and Criminology (Retired)
Ed.D. University of Florida, 1970
Charles Thomas
Professor of Sociology and Criminology (Retired)
Charles H. Wood
Professor of Sociology
Ph.D. Sociology, University of Texas at Austin
cwood@latam.ufl.edu